Parallels H-Sphere Documentation Parallels H-Sphere Documentation

 

Suspending and Resuming Accounts

 

Last modified: 26 Dec 2007

 

WARNING: This documentation covers Parallels H-Sphere versions up to 3.1. For the latest up-to-date Parallels H-Sphere documentation, please proceed to the official Parallels site.

Questions Considered:

 

Understanding Account Suspension

Account suspension closes user access to their control panel, but on the contrary to removing account, preserves its content and configuration. Visitors to suspended sites are redirected to the predefined Suspended account page .

An account suspension doesn't close billing period. As a result:
- recurrent fees are not refunded.
- user files remain on disk. This may lead to average summary disk usage exceed its limit and user be charged usage fees for exsessive MB.

Owners of suspended accounts get e-mail notifications, and can view their invoices and billing profiles.
Note: owners of suspended accounts get e-mail notifications only at the e-mail specified in the "Billing info" in their user control panel.

The suspended account mail system is restricted by:
-d (sets no password changing flag)
-p (sets no pop access flag)
-w (sets no web mail access flag)
-i (sets no imap access flag)
-b (sets bounce mail flag)
-r (sets no external relay flag)

 

Starting with version 3.1 Beta 1, H-Sphere tracks the account suspension process to keep the history of the suspension agents (doers) and the reasons for it. According to the information collected, the resumption of suspended accounts can be performed automatically by a respective system cron, or manually by Admin or Reseller. The dependencies between the suspenders and resumers are shown in the following chart:

Resumers Suspenders
Admin Reseller Overlimit Cron Suspend Cron
(account of a
suspended reseller)
Suspend Cron
(account in debt)
Trial Cron MoneyBack
Request
ExemptionCode
Request
Admin + + + + + + - +
Reseller - + + + + + - +
Overlimit Cron - - - - - - - -
Suspend Cron
(account of a
suspended reseller)
- - - + - - - -
Suspend Cron
(account in debt)
- - - - + + - -
Trial Cron - - - - - - - -
MoneyBack Request - - - - - - - -
Trtoin
(account moved from trial
payment to instant)
- - - - - + - -
ExemptionCode Approve - - - - - - - +
ExemptionCode Reject - - - - - - - +

Legend:
+    resumer can resume account
-     resumer can't resume account

H-Sphere 3.1 Beta 1 implements Auto Resuming that allows or disallows Suspend cron to resume accounts.
To allow/disallow:

  1. Go to Settings->Auto Resuming
  2. Click the On/Off icon to allow/disallow:

After the H-Sphere installation, Auto Resuming is enabled by default. Upon the H-Sphere update, it is disabled.

To view the history of the suspension process:

  1. Find the account using the Search utility
  2. Click the account ID
  3. Click the Suspend History link in the Account Status field
  4. On the page that appears, you will see the info on suspender/resumer, the reason for suspension/resumption, and other related info:

 

Suspending Accounts

To suspend any individual account:

  1. Find the account.
  2. Click the Suspend icon in the Controls column.

You can, also, configure your system to suspend debtors automatically in case of trial hosting and exceeding resource limit.

 

Resuming Accounts

Resuming suspended accounts "unlocks" the Control Panel and stops redirecting site visitors to Suspended account page.

To resume suspended account:

  1. Find the suspended account.
  2. Click the Resume icon in the Controls column.

There are several billing cases caused by resuming account:

before the billing month ends after the billing month ends after the biling period ends
You will be charged according to your Billing Statement prior to suspension. You are charged overusage fees of the previous and monthly fees for the next billing month, for monthly resources (e.g. quota and traffic). A new billing period starts and the start billing period date is set to the current one. You are charged overusage fees (for quota and traffic) of the previous and recurrent fees for the next billing period.

Resuming expired trial account will automatically suspend it again within 24 hours. To activate this account, you should pay for hosting by creating a valid billing profile



© Copyright 2017. Parallels Holdings. All rights reserved.