Parallels H-Sphere Documentation Administrator Guide Dedicated Servers

 

Dedicated Servers' Maintenance

(version 2.5 and up)
 
 

Related Docs:   Dedicated Servers Intro Dedicated Servers (User Guide)

Last modified: 25 Dec 2007

 

WARNING: This documentation covers Parallels H-Sphere versions up to 3.1. For the latest up-to-date Parallels H-Sphere documentation, please proceed to the official Parallels site.

Dedicated hosting is usually accompanied by a range of managed services, such as system administration, firewalls, backups, remote reboots etc. H-Sphere facilitates providing some of such services. The backup scheduling manager receives backup requests from client control panels and is ready to display them to you in a convenient manner. Attending to other user requests, such as remote reboots, adding extra IPs and server upgrades, is assisted by the trouble ticket system.

If you want your clients to be able to send requests for remote reboot and backup of their servers, make sure to enable these resources in globals.

 

Regular Backups

H-Sphere implements backup scheduling manager for client dedicated servers.

To check backup schedule, go to Backup Maintenance in the Dedicated servers menu. After you choose search criteria, a page similar to this appears:

After a user has filled out regular backup request form, his record appears in this form.
When you perform the backup manually, click the (Mark as complete) icon, and the user will be notified that this task has been completed.
If you wish to cancel the user's backup request, click (Cancel the task) icon, and the user will be notified that this task has been cancelled.

 

Maintenance Requests

Besides regular backups, clients can request the following services from their interface:

Such requests are received by the trouble ticket system:

Add you comments to confirm or reject providing such services, or to specify the necessary details:

When you open ticket thread, you can see the server name and id by which to easily find it on the Manage Servers page.

 

Automatic Cancellation Settings

Automatic cancellation of a dedicated server can be set both by you and by the client who has been using it. While the client can schedule cancellation only for the end of the billing period, you are empowered to perform the following:

  • appoint any date for automatic cancellation

    Go Dedicated Servers -> Manage Servers and click Edit for the server you'd like to cancel and then click in the Status field. Set cancellation date:

    Now, on the Manage Servers page, you will see this server having specific sign to show you the cancellation date:

    If the server is due to be automatically canceled within the billing period, refunds will be issued according to your refund formulars.

  • update cancellation settings

    You can update both your own and your user's cancellation settings. To discard cancellation, click and confirm your intention. To reschdedule, click and choose the new date.

  • enable sending cancellation warnings

    To enable sending e-mail notifications about automatic server cancellation, go Dedicated Servers > Cancellation Settings. On the Dedicated Server Cancellation Settings page check the smaller box and in the bigger box, type the number of days in advance to warn your customers:

    Read how to edit e-mail notifications.


Related Docs:   Dedicated Servers Intro Dedicated Servers (User Guide)



© Copyright 2017. Parallels Holdings. All rights reserved.